In Massachusetts, law enforcement can arrest you for DUI if you have a blood alcohol content of at least 0.08%. This state law also applies to intoxication by controlled substances.
Review the Massachusetts laws about driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
With no prior offenses in the past 10 years, you could receive these penalties for a DUI conviction in Massachusetts:
- 12-month license suspension
- $500 to $5,000 in fines
- Up to 30 months in jail
In this case, you may also qualify for probation. Instead of jail time, you would have to complete a driver alcohol education course, substance use treatment if indicated and a year of probation. Penalties during probation include up to 30 hours of community service and a license suspension for 45 to 90 days.
Second DUI offense
A second conviction for DUI in 10 years can result in:
- 24-month license suspension
- $600 to $10,000 in fines
- At least 60 days and up to 30 months in jail
To be eligible for probation after a second DUI, you must complete two weeks of inpatient substance use disorder treatment, subsequent outpatient treatment and two years of probation.
Third DUI offense
If you receive a third DUI conviction in 10 years, penalties may include:
- Eight-year license suspension
- $1,000 to $15,000 in fines
- At least 180 days and up to 30 months in jail
Probation is not available for a third-time DUI. In addition, you could receive elevated charges for DUI with an underage passenger, refusing a breath test or causing bodily injury in an accident.