Due to precautions related to COVID-19, we have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss whether a full phone consultation or video conference is appropriate for your situation. If you need to drop documents off, please make arrangements with the attorney on your file.

A Full-Service Law Firm
Located in Quincy, Massachusetts, Levin and Levin, LLP was established in 1933 as a full-service law firm committed to providing clients throughout the South Shore with the highest level of legal representation available.

Massachusetts requires more car insurance than many states

On Behalf of | Jul 14, 2021 | Injuries

Most people pay hundreds of dollars for insurance without really understanding what they’re buying. Insurance coverage can seem like a frustrating expense until the day you need to make a claim.

After a car crash, your attitude about mandatory insurance coverage will likely shift. Your coverage can protect you from claims by someone else if you cause a crash or reimburse you for your injuries in property damage losses caused by someone else.

Understanding what kind of coverage drivers have to carry in Massachusetts can make navigating a post-wreck insurance claim simpler.

Massachusetts requires 4 different kinds of insurance coverage

The minimum amount of coverage required to register and drive a vehicle is more comprehensive than what many other states require. More coverage may mean more costs, but it also means more protection both for those who cause crashes and those hurt by them.

Every driver in Massachusetts needs to carry liability coverage in case they cause a collision. Drivers need to insure against causing an injury to others. They need at least $20,000 of medical coverage for a crash with one person hurt, with a minimum of $40,000 of bodily injury coverage per crash.

Drivers also have to carry the same amount of bodily injury protection for themselves and their passengers in case they are in a crash caused by an uninsured driver.

The second kind of liability coverage is for property damage, and drivers need at least $5,000 of coverage. Finally, drivers have to carry at least $8,000 in no-fault personal injury protection to cover their own medical expenses or losses due to a crash injury.

The bigger the claim, the greater the risk of underpayment

The more serious the damage to your vehicle is and the worse injuries you suffer are, the more compensation you need after a crash.

Even if the person who caused the crash carries more than the minimum amount of insurance, the maximum coverage isn’t always what a claimant receives. Big claims can be big losses for insurance providers, so adjusters may be more aggressive about their investigation and the settlement offers they make.

Familiarizing yourself with policy requirements and your rights after a crash will make it easier for you to get the insurance coverage you need.