E-scooters and e-bikes can be dangerous to ride. Whether you’re just taking one for a spin as something fun to do one afternoon or you have been riding one to and from work, you’ve probably had some close calls.
These vehicles can’t be used on sidewalks, and many areas don’t have bike lines. That means that people on e-scooters or e-bikes may end up on the main road with other vehicles.
Their small sizes are an issue. E-bikes are a little bit better, because they are more able to keep up with traffic and are more recognizable. E-scooters, on the other hand, have an even smaller footprint and may be hard to see. They are restricted to slower speeds as well.
E-bike and e-scooter laws
Those with driving permits or their first licenses at age 16 may rent or operate e-scooters in most cases. Those without a valid license or learner’s permit are not allowed to use a motorized scooter.
Scooters are also limited to 20 mph or less. This is problematic, because the scooter may not have enough power to avoid a collision with an aggressive driver and won’t be able to keep up with traffic even on the slowest roadways.
E-bikes are different in some ways. They still require a license to be operated, since they are a motorized vehicle. These are limited to 25 mph.
Massachusetts has taken a step toward the safety of riders
Massachusetts is one of only a few states with specific age requirements and restrictions on e-bikes and e-scooters. These laws are there to help protect riders, so that they are less likely to be involved in a collision as a result of not knowing the traffic laws or riding where they should not.
Unfortunately, crashes do still happen. Drivers are less likely to see people on scooters, and many people opt to ride e-bikes and e-scooters without the licensing they should have.
If you’re involved in a crash while riding your e-scooter or e-bike, you may be able to hold the at-fault driver liable for the collision. You do have the right to be on the road so long as you have met the state requirements.